Why We Left APGA – 6 Anambra Assembly Members

By Ikeugonna Eleke

The six members of the Anambra State House of assembly members who recently joined the All Progressives Congress, APC, from the All Progressives Grand Alliance, APGA, have given reasons why they left.

The lawmakers were welcomed alongside the governorship candidate of the APC in Anambra, after they traveled to Abuja and defected.

Speaking at Ekwulobia in Aguata Local Government Area of Anambra State, the lawmakers, who took turns to speak, said their former party, APGA, was dying and there was need to leave it for a better place.

Some of the lawmakers also said they joined the party to work with its candidate, Andy Uba, to connect Anambra to the centre and to ensure the dividends of democracy.

Ezeudu Lawrence, the member representing Dunukofia State Constituency, said they were in APC because of Andy Uba whom he described as a man of impeccable character.

‘We decided to follow the man who knows the way, who will connect us to power at the centre, and to benefit from what they intend to give to Anambra.’

Hon Carter Dike, the member representing Aguata 1 State Constituency, said the symbol of his former party, the cockerel, was dead. He accused the leaders of APGA of killing the cockerel, thus putting the party in disarray.

The six members had recently joined APC in Abuja. They include Hon. Nonso Okafor, representing Nnewi North; Hon. Timothy Ifedioramma, representing Njikoka 1; Hon. Cater D. N. Umeoduagu, representing Aguata 1; Hon. Lawrence Ezeudu, representing Dunukofia; Hon. Arthur Chiekwu, representing Idemili North, and Hon. Edward Ibuzo, representing Onisha North 2.