Umeoji Wins APGA Ticket for Aguata Fed Constituency

…Nnebe Wins Awka North/South, Dozie Wins Anaocha/Njikoka/ Dunukofia

By Ifeoma Ezenyilimba

The keenly contested APGA Primary for Aguata Federal House of Representatives has ended with Hon Chukwuma Umeoji being elected as the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) candidate for Aguata Federal Constituency Seat for the 2019 general elections.

In the election that was held at Umuchiani Hall, Ekwulobia, Aguata L.G.A, for Aguata Federal Constituency on September 2, and had the Special Assistant to the Executive Governor of Anambra State on Political Matters, Barr. Oliver Okonnkwo, who hails from Ayamelum L.G.A as the Returning Officer, Hon. Umeoji was declared the winner, having secured the majority votes of 68, out of the total votes of 114.

According to the result announced by the returning officer, Hon. Chukwuma Umeoji had 68 votes; Hon. Ikem Uzoezie 20 votes; Hon Dr. Ikechukwu Umenwa had 23 votes and Engr. Dom Okafor, 2 votes, while 1 vote was invalid, totalling 114 votes.

Speaking to Fides shortly after the election, the winner, Hon. Umeoji, thanked APGA for providing a level playing ground for what he described as the free, fair and credible election.
Umeoji, who is a former Aguata Federal Constituency legislator under the umbrella of Labour Party, as well as a former Executive Chairman of Aguata Local Government Council, thanked the delegates for the confidence they reposed in him through their votes. He assured the people of Aguata of a credible, purposeful and service-oriented representation if given the mandate in the general election.

In a related development, the current member representing Awka North/South Federal Constituency, Rt. Hon. Anayo Nnebe, has won the APGA primary for his federal constituency with a majority vote of 84. The details of the result of the election for the Awka North/South Federal Constituency which was held at Awka South Local Government Secretariat, Amawbia, and as announced by the returning officer, are as follows: Rt. Hon. Anayo Nnebe – 84 votes; Chief Godson Ezenagu – 33 votes; Barr. Harford Oseke – 22 votes; Uche Onyiliofor – 8 votes and Anemene – 7 votes, totalling 154 votes.

Similarly, the current member representing Anaocha/Njikoka/ Dunukofia Federal Constituency, Hon. Ferdinand Dozie Nwankwo, also won the APGA primary election of Oct 2 for his Federal Constituency with a landslide victory of 240 votes.

Nwankwo, who was elected as the party’s candidate for the 2019 general election, defeated his fellow contender, Emelie Okika, who polled 70 votes in the primary election held at Dunukofia Local Government Secretariat, Ukpo.

Hon. Chukwuma Umeoji, the APGA Candidate for Aguata Federal Constituency Seat for the 2019 general elections: he has assured Aguata people of credible representation.