Umeh Heads Senate Committee on Diaspora

By Jude Atupulazi

The President of the Senate, Godswill Akpabio, has unveiled the leadership of the Senate Standing Committees, with Senator Victor Umeh, representing Anambra Central Senatorial District, heading the Senate Committee on Diaspora.

Umeh is of the Labour Party (LP) and a former National Chairman of the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA)

The functions of the Umeh Committee will among other things, entail mobilizing and executing programmes that will compliment and advise the Senate, and, by extension, the Federal Government, on major areas of accelerated development, as well as to initiate policies needed to recognize and harness the potentials of Nigerians in Diaspora networks and organizations.

According to the appointments by Akpabio, the immediate past President of the Senate, Dr Ahmad Lawan, emerged as the Chairman, Committed on Defence; while former Chief Whip of the 9th Senate and former Governor of Abia State, Orji Uzor Kalu, emerged as Chairman of Committee on Privatisation.

The announcements were made immediately after the Senate resumed from its break at 9.59pm and later concluded its legislative activities and adjourned at 10.47pm.

In some of the committee appointments, the former Governor of Zamfara State, Senator Abdulaziz Abubakar Yari, was appointed the Chairman, Committee on Water Resources.

Also, the Senate Minority Leader in the 9th Assembly, Enyinnaya Abaribe, was named Chairman, Senate Committee on Power and the immediate past Governor of Sokoto State, Aminu Tambuwal, clinched chairmanship of the Housing Committee.

Others who emerged as Committee Chairmen include former Governor of Edo State, Adams Oshiomhole, who heads Interior Committee and Senator Sani Musa (APC, Niger East), who is Chairman, Committee on Finance.

Senator Abdulfatai Buhari (APC, Oyo North Chairs Committee on Aviation; Osita Izunaso, Committee on Capital Market; while Neda Imasuen (LP, Edo South), Ethics, Privileges and Public Petitions.

Other Committee Chairmen announced by Akpabio were: Godiya Akwashiki (SDP, Nasarawa), Airforce Committee; and Abdulfatai Buhari, who Chairs the Senate Committee on Aviation.

Also announced were: Establishment, headed by Senator Cyril Fasuyi; Ecology/Climate Change, Chaired by Senator Seriake Dickson, representing Bayelsa West on the platform of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP), and JideI pisagba, who heads Petroleum Downstream.

Other Committee Chairmen announced by Akpabio include: Public Accounts, headed by Senator AliyuWadada (SDP, Nasarawa); Special Duties, Chaired by Senator Shehu Kaka; and Works which is headed by Senator Patrick Ndubueze.

Moreover, Senator Solomon Adeola heads Appropriations Committee; AbiruTokunbo, Banking; Isa Jibril, Customs; Elisha Abbo, Culture and Tourism .

Furthermore, the Committee on Basic Education is headed by Senator Lawal Usman; Committee on Environment is under Senator Akintunde Yunus; while the Committee on the Federal Capital Territory is chaired by Senator Ibrahim Bomai.

Similarly, while Akpabio named Senator SaniAbubakar the Chairman of the Committee on Foreign affairs. He announced Senator Banigo Harry as the head of the Health Committee, and Aliyu Wamakko as the Chairman, Local and Foreign Debts Committee.

Also, the former Governor of Ogun State, Senator Daniel Olugbenga, is the Chairman, Senate Committee on Navy, Barinada Mpigi, heads Committee on Niger Delta, while Senator Mohammed Monguno heads the Senate Committee on Judiciary.

The Committee on Youths and Sports is chaired by Senator Yemi Adaramodu, who is the current Chairman, Senate Committee on Media and Public Affairs; just as the Senator representing the FCT, Ireti Kingigbe, heads the Women’s Affairs Committee.

Senator Aliyu Bilbis heads Communications Committee; Asuquo Ekpenyong chairs the Committee on Niger Delta Development Commission (NDDC); and Mustapha Sabiu chairs the Committee on Agriculture, among others.

Culled from Razor News