Transition Committee: Dunukofia, Nnewi South, Ekwusigo Get New Chairmen

By Abuchi Onwumelu

The Anambra State House of Assembly has ratified Governor Willie Obiano’s nominees for Transition Committee chairmen of the twenty one local government areas in the state. The House ratified their appointments during last Tuesday’s plenary.

Out of the twenty one local government transition committee chairmen that their appointment were, ratified by the House, eighteen are old chairmen, while three are new nominees.

The new ones are Emeka Okonkwo, Transition Committee chairman for Dunukofia Local Government Area; Mr. Chieloka Okoye, Transition Committee chairman for Nnewi South Local Government Area and Barrister Austin Enendu, Ekwusigo Local Government Area.

The House ratified their appointment for three months in line with Section two hundred and eight of the Local Government Law.

The Deputy Speaker of the House, Sir Harford Oseke, who presided over the plenary, charged them to live up to expectations and called for the confirmation of their appointment while the House ratified it through a voice vote.

In vote of thanks, the Transition Committee chairman, Idemili North Local Government Area, Mr. Raphael Nnabuife, assured that they would continue to do their best to move their local government areas forward.

In their separate speeches the Transition Committee chairman, Orumba South Local Government Area, Chief Raymond Onyegu and his Orumba North counterpart, Hon. (Mrs.) Ify Obinabo, thanked the House for ratifying their appointments, assuring that they would continue to work with them and the Executive Arm of Government in moving the State forward.