Tenure of Transition Committee Chairmen of 21 Local Govt Councils Renewed

By Abuchi Onwumelu

The Anambra State House of Assembly has renewed the tenure of the transition committee chairmen of the twenty one local government areas in the state for another three months.

The House renewed their tenure in line with section two hundred and eight of the Local Government Law as amended during their emergency sitting in Awka last Tuesday.

The House extended the tenure of the local government chairmen at Committee of the Whole.

The Speaker of the House, Right Honourable Uche Okafor, read out their confirmation, while members of the House supported it through a voice vote.

In his remarks, the Speaker charged the local government chairmen to continue to execute life touching projects in their various local government areas and assist the state government in the fight against COVID-19 pandemic by sensitizing their people on the dangers of the deadly disease and the preventive measures.

The speaker also announced that the House had proceeded on a three week break to enable the Ministry of Health to do contact tracing of those found to be negative of COVID-19 and to pave way for the fumigation of the House of Assembly complex.

Speaking on behalf of his colleagues, the transition committee chairman for Idemili North Local Government Area, Mr. Raphael Nnabuife, commended the House for extending their tenure, assuring that they would continue to work with the Executive and Legislative Arms of government in piloting the affairs of their local government areas.

In their separate speeches, the transition committee chairman for Orumba South Local Government Area, Chief Cyprian Okereke, and his Njikoka Local Government counterpart, Chief George Ozor, assured that they would redouble their efforts in the fight against COVID-19 pandemic to forestall its spread.