Renews Tenure of LG Transition Committee Chairmen

By Mmaduabuchi Onwumelu

The Anambra State House of Assembly has renewed the tenure of the twenty one Local government Transition Committee chairmen in the state for another three months.

The House extended their tenure in line with section 208 of the Local Government Law as requested by Governor Willie Obiano during plenary.

Addressing the Local government chairmen after extension of their tenure, the Speaker of the Anambra State House of Assembly, Right Honourable Uche Okafor, charged them to continue to work with the House and Governor Willie Obiano to attract dividends of democracy to their various local government areas.

With the recent renewal of the tenure of the local government transition committees, it means the state will not have conducted local government elections under the outgoing regime of Gov Obiano.

In the administration of former Gov Peter Obi, local government elections were held two months to the expiration of his eight-year tenure. Before then he had also relied on the use of local government transition committees to run the third tier of government and often gave reason for that to an undisposed court case.

The people of Anambra State will now look up to the incoming government of Prof Chukwuma Soludo for the conduct of the long awaited local council polls in the state.