Obiano’s Wife, Arthur Eze, Maduka, Soludo, Ubah, Tonimas, Others for 2018 Anambra Hall of Fame Awards

….Organizers Fix 29th September as Reception Date

By Abuchi Onwumelu

The Anambra State commissioner for Youth Empowerment and Creative Economy, Mr. Bonaventure Enemali, has released the list of successful recipients for the 2018 Anambra Hall of Awards. The event is billed to hold on Saturday, 29th September, 2018 in Awka.

Addressing newsmen in his office in Awka, the youth commissioner said the event would serve as a platform to showcase the works of philanthropists in Anambra State, noting that the recipients were carefully selected by the Screening Committee Members.

Hon. Enemali noted that individuals and corporate organizations that contributed immensely to the development of their various communities through their philanthropic gestures would commended and appreciated on that day.

He stated that the ministry in collaboration with Generations for Peace Foundation during the official flag-off the event made an open call for nominations from the general public through online and offline platforms.

He said that during the screening, the committee set up criteria considered to be community impact oriented as yardstick for selection, saying that the process was based on verifiable track record of philanthropic service to humanity undertaken by these personalities.

‘Nominees were screened on the following community service identified below from 2010- 2018. It is important to note that Anambra has raised thousands of illustrious sons and daughters with philanthropic spirit and an inclination to the needs of their society.

‘Our call attracted over 1500 nominations which was eventually screened and streamlined to 30 recipients by the advisory committee headed by Professor Mercy Anagbogu.

‘Nominees were screened based on the following community service, constructed and tarred various roads in their communities. Built Churches/worship centres in their communities, donated vehicles for the welfare of the communities/universities/school, built/renovated school buildings in their communities.

‘Established sporting activities for youths in their communities, built town hall for the communities, built houses for the less-priviledge and granted scholarship to children and youths, organized social activities and empowerment programmes for the youths in their communities and many other Impactful and evidence-based community service,’ the commissioner concluded.

In an interview, the deputy director, Generations for Peace Foundation, Engr. Emeka Anyadubalu said Anambra State under the distinguished Leadership of Gov. Willie Obiano would honour some great personalities of the state who had taken the footstep of Mother Teresa of Calcutta through their Philanthropic activities in their various communities.

He said that the recipients through their philanthropic works, had rendered selflessly and had continued to touch lives, even as he said they always desire to put smiles to the faces of their people.

Anyadubalu said the recipients constructed roads in their communities, build worship centres, built Schools, built health centres, built police Stations, donates some amenities to the community like buses, transformers, among others.

According to him, the recipients had so far solidified their philanthropic works by establishing different charity foundations aimed at ameliorating the plights of the indigent people in their locality, even as he said they had also in past years remained committed in giving back to society regardless of the harsh economy realities.

Some of the awardees included, Chief (Mrs.) Ebelechukwu Obiano; Dr. Godwin Maduka; Dr. Patrick Ifeanyi Ubah; Chief Sir Anthony Enukeme (Tonimas); Sir Clem Nwogbo; Engr. Arthur Eze; Chief Poly Emenike (Neros); Prof. Chukwuma Soludo.

Commissioner for Youth Empowerment and Creative Economy, Mr. Bonaventure Enemali

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *