NYCN Holds Youth Summit,Confers Meritorious Award

Dec 31, 2018

Interactive session by the participants during the 2018 Anambra Youth Stakeholders Political Summit, at Emmaus House Awka, Anambra State.

By Egodi Nkiruka Okeke

The National Youth Council of Nigeria, Anambra State Chapter, on 13th December, 2018 marked their 2018 Anambra Youth Stakeholders Political Summit, Inauguration of NYCN Local Government Executive & Merit Awards.

The events which had its theme as “ Actualizing a Violence Free Election in 2019; The Role of the Youths'', held at Emmaus House Hall Complex, Awka, in Anambra State; hosted youths across the 21 Local Government in Anambra State and beyond, granting them the opportunity to know their right and during the upcoming general election.

The State Chairman of NYCN, Comr. Egwuatu Samuel, in his opening remarks stated the need for the youths to participate actively in politics.He made it known that the youths are the strength of any nation, and advised all to abstain from any character that could jeopardize their future and undermine the growth of democracy in Anambra State and Nigeria in general.

The guest speaker, Prof. Austine Uche Igwe, in his keynote address, titled “Actualizing a Violence Free Election in 2019; The Role of Youths”, noted that in other to actualize a violence free election in 2019, all hands had to be on deck.

He stated that ineffective security forces, poor handling of electoral petitions, low level of education, poverty and unemployment were part of factors that enhanced youth violence in the electoral processes in Nigeria. He added that the above outlined factors will be achieved by youths who have been re-generated, and with the cooperation of youth groups like the NYCN.

Speaking at the event, the National President, Comr. Bello Bala Shagari, represented by the Deputy National President, Comr. Innocent Nduanya, thanked the Youths Council of Anambra State for her massive cooperation in making sure that the youths council in the State, moved in the right direction.He advised the youths to take full participation in electing the right and youth friendly candidate in the forth coming election.

Some of the awardees include the Commissioner for Social Welfare, Children and Women Affairs, Hon. Ndidi Mezue, , Sen. Uche Ekwunife, Chief Daniel Obiora , Chief Okwudili Ezenwankwo, Hon. Nnamdi Okafor; Comr. Emma Eeokafor; and Chief Dan Madueke.



©2018 FIDES Media