News Update

NASU Anambra State Council Re-Elects Sir Nwafor As Chairman

By Mmaduabuchi Onwumelu

Following the successful completion of his first tenure, the members of the Non-Academic Staff Union of Educational and Associated Institutions (NASU), Anambra State Council, have unanimously re-elected Comrade (Sir) Humphrey Nwafor for another four years in office.

Sir Nwafor who was returned unopposed during the 9th Quadrennial Delegates Conference/Election held at NULGE House, Awka Anambra State Capital is currently the Chairman of the Nigeria Labour Congress (NLC),Anambra State Chapter.

Comrade Sir Humphrey Nwafor shortly after his swearing in as the newly elected chairman of NASU Anambra State Council.

Comrade Sir Humphrey Nwafor shortly after his swearing in as the newly elected chairman of NASU Anambra State Council.

Addressing NASU members comprising 13th branches before the exercise, the Returning Officer, Comrade Emmanuel Amalu appreciated the outgone executive for their shrewdness in managing the affairs of the Association, noting that he was happy with the existing unity and peace in the Council, saying that nothing could be achieved in the atmosphere of rancour, bickering and unnecessary distractions.

Comrade Amalu urged the members to remained law-abiding and supportive of the leadership of NASU in Anambra State, emphasizing that the newly elected exco would continue from where the outgone leadership stopped, even as if expressed delight that Sir Nwafor emerged unopposed for the second time running, saying that he had implicit confidence in his capacity to deliver and move the Council forward.

The newly elected officials of NASU are as follows: Comrade Sir Humphrey Nwafor – Chairman; Comrade Benjamin C. Nweke , FCA – NEC, Anambra State; Comrade Chukwugozie Ikegulu – Treasurer and Comrade Daniel Nwaezuoke – Trustee.

In his acceptance speech, Comrade Sir Nwafor thanked the NASU national leadership as well as the members of the Anambra State Council for their unflinching support and trust, noting that he would not disappoint them having performed in his first tenure in office, assuring that he would ensure that the existing peace and tranquility in the branches would continue unabated.

Sir Nwafor who is a member of the Ancient and Noble Order of Knights of St John International, KSJI, Commandery 434 Awka, said he was overwhelmed with joy seeing the national leadership through the Returning Officer applauded what they had been able to do in Anambra State, noting that they would continued to work towards the upliftment and development of NASU in the state.

Speaking on his achievements, Comrade Nwafor said that the past four years had been bitter-sweet and that there were uphills challenge emanating from COVID-19 pandemic almost immediately he took over the mantle of leadership and it affected the beginning of his tenure, stating that he did not allowed the myriads of challenges before him to deterred him from achieving some of his goals and promises to the members during his inauguration in 2019.

‘Before the emergence of the present administration, there were a lot of rancour, crisis and misunderstanding among the SEC members and the crisis degenerated to the extent that it started affecting some branches to the point that management, activities and relationship with our members and leaders in the cause of discharging their duties were no longer cordial.

‘Before we came in, Anambra State Library board was in crisis to the extent that their then management confiscated their check-off dues and hijacked their branch election to the point that they were not allowed to have their election in May 2019 with other branches and this also prevented them from participating in the 2019 State Council Election,’ Sir Nwafor concluded.

The branches are as follows: Anambra State Universal Basic Education Board (ASUBEB), Post-Primary Schools Service Commission (PPSSC), Electronics Development Institute (ELDI), National Engineering Design Development Institute (NEDI), West African Examination Council (WAEC), Nise, Professor Kenneth Dike E-Library, Awka, Chukwuemeka Odumegwu Ojukwu University (COOU), Nnamdi Azikiwe University (NAU) , Awka, Nnamdi Azikiwe University Teaching Hospital (NAUTH), School of Health Sciences, Nnewi, Federal Polytechnic, Oko , Federal College of Education,Technical (FCET), Umunze.