Low Voter Turnout Mars Assembly Poll in Anambra

. . . APGA Wins 24 Seats

By Chioma Ndife

The House of Assembly election in Anambra State on March 9, 2019 witnessed high voter apathy as voters were disgruntled about the outcome of the negative result of the presidential and national assembly elections held previously.

From Awka to Onitsha, Onitsha to Anambra East and from Nando to Ihiala, the story was the same as people shunned the exercise on the grounds that their votes did not count during the last election.

Security agencies were either off the roads or nearly non-existent on the roads as compared to the previous elections, while in some polling units, security personal were not sited.

Fides also witnessed high level of vote-buying in the exercise across all the polling units visited and underscored the peaceful nature of the exercise.

Fides Newspaper captured Mrs. Roseline Umeh who opened her shop and was busy selling her wares. She said they voted for a certain man two weeks ago but that their votes did not reflect in the result announced, hence her decision not to vote again.

At polling unit 011, Achukwu Hall 2, Ward 2, Odoakpu in Onitsha South, more than 15 persons had voted as at 8.50am out of the only 30 persons that were seen at the polling unit.

However, Miss Julie Eze, the YPP Agent at the polling unit, complained that only 600 ballot papers were brought to the polling unit as against the 754 registered voters in the unit.

The PDP agent, Mrs. Eugenia Ozougwu, while corroborating Eze’s complaint, appealed to INEC to complete the ballot papers.

In an interview, the Electoral Officer of INEC in charge of Onitsha North, Mr. Samuel Nimem, said all electoral materials had been distributed to all units as early as 7am. He assured that hitches of card readers would be ratified at different polling units by the REG Techs who were trained by INEC to handle such issues. He noted that the issue of cards readers was an unavoidable one, saying that card readers were like machines and were prone to break down at any point.

The Anambra State Governor, Chief Willie Obiano, who voted by 9.50am at his Eri Primary School Polling Unit, Aguleri, urged Ndi Anambra to come out in their numbers and exercise their franchise to ensure the speedy development of the state.

The All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) won 24 seats out of 30 constituencies in Anambra State, while the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) won six constituencies of Anaocha 1, Ogbaru 1 and 2, Onitsha North 1, Ekwusigo and Nnewi South 2.

The All Progressives Congress (APC) and Young Progressive Party (YPP) where unfortunate as they were not able to win any constituency despite the YPP winning the senatorial ticket for Anambra South.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *