Improved Oversight: 8th Assembly Constitutes 29 Standing Committees

By Mmaduabuchi Onwumelu

In a significant stride towards fostering effective governance and accountability, the Anambra House of Assembly has successfully constituted 29 standing committees, each led by prominent members of the legislative body.

The Speaker of the House, Rt. Hon. Somtochukwu Nkem Udeze, presided over the plenary session in Awka where he officially announced the list of committees and their respective chairpersons.

The comprehensive list of committees and their chairpersons are as follows:

Finance and Appropriation – Hon. Ejike Okechukwu Aloy;

Commerce, Trade, and Industry – Hon. Innocent Ojike; Environment – Hon. Fredrick Ezenwa; Homeland and Boundary Matters – Hon. Mr. Jude Umennajiego; Local Government, Chieftaincy, and Community Affairs – Hon. Douglas Egbuna.

Others are, Screening and Election Matters – Hon. Chukwuma Okoye; House Services and Special Duties – Hon. ChukwuebukaIgwe; Women and Social Welfare – Hon. Nkechi Ogbuefi.

The remaining committees are as follows: Public Procurement – Hon. JohnboscoAkaegbobi; Youth Development and Sports – Hon. Ike Augustine; Public Accounts – Hon. Noble ChukwunonsoIgwe; Information, Technology, and Creative Economy – Hon. Francis Azotani; Culture, Entertainment, and Tourism – Hon. Mr. Henry Mbachu; Education – Hon. Emmanuel Okpalaeke; Judiciary and Justice – Hon.

Emmanuel Okafor; Public Petitions – Hon. Calistus Nweke; Agriculture – Hon. Mr. Chukwuebuka Golden; Housing and Urban Development – Hon. Mr. Nonso Atuchukwu; Transportation – Hon. Mr. Patrick Udoba; Internally Generated Revenue – Hon. Ngobili Jude; Land Survey and Town Planning – Hon. Akpua Jude; Works and Infrastructure – Hon. Emmanuel Nwafor; Economic Planning, SDGs, and International Organisations – Hon. ChukwukaObu; Health – Hon. Anthony Muobike; Rules and Business – Hon. Mr. Ikenna Ofodeme; Pilgrimage, Ethics, and Privileges – Hon. Mr. Bernard Udemezue; CSOs, Establishments, and Labour Matters – Hon. Mr. Kingsley Udemezue; Petroleum and Mineral Resources – Hon. Mr. ChidiebereIbemeka; Power and Water Resources – Hon. Mr. Chimezie Ikwunne.

The Speaker had made the comprehensive committee list available for public review, showcasing the commitment to transparency and inclusivity; just as the House leadership is actively working to schedule the formal inauguration of the committee chairpersons and secretaries.