Ifesinachi Emerges Vice President, NUJ, Southeast Zone C

By Mmaduabuchi Onwumelu

Comrade Emmanuel Ifesinachi, immediate past chairman of the Nigeria Union of Journalists (NUJ), Anambra State Council, has emerged the new Vice President, Nigeria Union of Journalists, South East, Zone C.

Speaking shortly after his emergence at the 7th National Delegates Conference held in Umuahia, Abia State, Comrade Ifesinachi expressed gratitude to God and thanked his colleagues for the confidence reposed in him by members of the Union. He assured that he would bring out his best to ensure the Union moved to greater heights.

‘Part of my cardinal objectives is to ensure there is unity in the Zone. Whatever activity we are doing, we will make sure we carry everybody along. I have events like summits, press week and other media events we are going to roll out. These will give us the platform to train and retrain our members.

‘So there is need that we move at intervals to discuss the challenges of the Union and proffer solutions to them as an evolving profession. We will also look at the areas of welfare and see that¬† no member is left out. For that, we are committed to protecting and ensuring the safety of journalists in the zone,’ he said.

The former Council boss called on security agencies in the state to beef up their strategies towards ensuring the safety of life and property of journalists in the state.

Meanwhile, the chairman of the National Credentials Committee, Garba Muhammad, who declared some of the winners, charged them to work assiduously towards improving the objectives of the Union.

Five Zonal Vice Presidents and Zonal Secretaries were also elected at the conference.

Other national officers who emerged included, the National President of NUJ, Chris Isiguzo, who returned for another term in office; Yahaya Al-Hassan, who emerged as Deputy National President; and a former Vice President of Zone B and ex-Ondo NUJ chairman, Barrister Dele Atunbi of NTA, Abuja, emerged as the National Treasurer.

Others were Samuel Dada of LTV, Lagos, who emerged as the National Financial Secretary; and Ladi Emmanuel, who emerged the new National Internal Auditor.