Flood : Lawmakers Beckon On Obiano

By Abuchi Onwumelu


The Anambra State House of Assembly has passed a resolution urging Governor Willie Obiano to direct the Commissioner for Works, the Managing Director, Anambra Road Maintenance Agency and the State Emergency Management Agency to intervene on the flooding at the point between Holy Child Secondary School, Isuofia and Igboukwu boundary to avoid casualties.

The resolution which was sponsored as a matter of urgent public importance by the member representing Aguata Constituency Two, Chief Ikem Uzoezie, was passed during last Tuesday’s plenary.

Moving the motion, Hon.Uzoezie revealed that the flood which had been reoccurring in the area, worsened as a result of the torrential rainfall that occurred few days ago.
He regretted that the flood had made the area impassable and had extended to Holy Child Secondary School, Isuofia.

The Speaker of the House, Barrister Rita Maduagwu, while sympathizing with the flooded communities, asked the concerned Ministry and Agencies to salvage the situation and also called for a voice vote.

Similarly, the House passed another resolution urging Governor Willie Obiano to direct the Commissioner for Environment and other relevant agencies to commence work immediately at Uke erosion site, along Nkpor-Nnobi Road. The resolution which emanated as a matter of urgent public importance was sponsored by the member representing Idemili South Constituency, Barrister Chuka Ezenwune, who lamented that if palliative works were not done there within one week, it could cause catastrophe.

In their separate speeches, the member representing Idemili North Constituency, Mrs Nkoli Mmegbuanaeze; his Njikoka Constituency II counterpart, Dr. Pete Ibida, the Chief Whip, Chief Lawrence Ezeudu and the member representing Anambra East Constituency, Chief Obinna Emeneka supported the motion.

Also at the plenary, the House confirmed nominees as members of Anambra State Civil Service Commission. They are Mrs Colette Nwajiani, chairman; Mr Philip Nwazu, Commissioner I; Mr Simon Onuorah, Commissioner 2; Sir Moses Enuanakebe, Commissioner 3; Mrs Chiebona Ogbuli, Commissioner 4.

The House also confirmed the appointment of Chief Emeka Sibeudu, Professor Oguguo Ikpeze and Chief Benedict Obi as members of Anambra State Judicial Service Commission.