Committee for Defence of Human Rights Elects New National Officers

…Calls for Accountability

By Mmaduabuchi Onwumelu

The Committee for the Defence of Human Rights (CDHR), has elected a new leadership.

The election was held in Awka during the Annual General Conference of the group.

The new members of the National Executive Committee include, Comrade Dr Prince Kehinde Taiga National President; Comrade James Chibuzo Chikwendu, National Vice President; Comrade Credible Gerrard Katchy, National Gen. Secretary; Comrade Jude Adimekwe Asst. National General Secretary; Comrade Michael Roy Olokungboye, National Treasurer; Barrister Ibijoke Fajugba Tijani National Legal Adviser; Comrade GodsPower Ugah National Publicity Secretary; Comrade Ifechigha Queen Chinazo, National Internal Auditor; Comrade Enohuwa Obamwonyi, Ex officio and Barrister Emeka Anosike, Ex officio.

Speaking on behalf of the new leadership, the national president,

Comrade Dr Prince Kehinde Taiga, prayed God to grant them the grace to run the affairs of the organization effectively and efficiently.

Earlier in an interview, the National General Secretary of the body and the newly elected National Vice President, Comrade James Chibuzo Chikwendu, regretted that most times people tended to neglect their rights, even as he called on the people to always hold the government accountable.

For their part, Barr. Ikechukwu Charles Chuke, representing. Barr Maduforo Obinna; the State Coordinator, National Human Rights Commission and the former president of CDHR, Comr. Sunny Enenuvwedia, urged members to stop hammering on the national alone whereby states and local administrations were not doing well as states were now electing only their members and surrogates at community levels.