Brief History of American Govt, Politics: Lessons for Nigerian Youths and Future Generations

By Livinus Nnebedum

The two main political parties in America are Democratic and Republican. Other parties include Federalist, National Republican and Whig. These last 3 parties existed at the early history of American Politics and Government between 1789 and 1845. Presently the dominant parties still remain Democratic and Republican parties.

George Washington was the 1st President of America from 1789 to 1797 and belonged to Federalist Party.

John Adams was the 2ndPresident of America from 1797 to 1801 and belonged to Federalist Party. He was the 1st Vice-President of America.

Thomas Jefferson was the 3rd President of America from 1801 to 1809 and a Democrat – Republican.

James Madison was the 4th President of America 1809 to 1817. James Monroe was the 5th 1817 to 1825. John Quincy Adams was the 6th from 1825 to 1829 belonging to National Republican Party.

Andrew Jackson was the 7thPresident of America from 1829 to 1837 and a Democrat. A Democrat is a person who espouses belief in the core principles of democracy that all power in government is ultimately derived from the will of the people. Martin Van Buren was the 8th and belongs to Democratic Party. He served as American President from 1837 to 1841.

William Henry Harrison was the 9th and belongs to Whig Party and served America from 1841 to 1841 (ie under one year). John Tyler was also of Whig party and the 10thPresident of America from 1841 to 1845.

James K. Polk 11th from 1845 to 1849. Zachary Taylor was the 12thPresident and belonged to Whig party and served from 1849 to 1850. Millard Filimore was the 13th and served 1850 to 1853, belonged to Whig party.

Franklin Pierce from 1853 to 1857 was the 14th and a Democrat.

James Buchanan was the 15th from 1857 to 1861 and a Democrat.

Abraham Lincoln was the 16thPresident of America from 1861 to 1865 and a Republican.

The 17thPresident of America was Andrew Johnson 1865 to 1869.

–           Ulysses Grant 18th, 1869 to 1877.

–           Lutherford Hayes 19th, 1877 to 1881.

–           James Garfield 20th, 1881 to 1881, under one year.

–           Chester Arthur 21st, 1881 to 1885.

–           Grover Cleveland 22nd, 1885 to 1889.

–           Benjamin Harrison 23rd, 1889 to 1893.

–           Glover Cleveland 24th, 1893 to 1897.

–           William McKinley 25th, 1897 to 1901.

–           Theodore Roosevelt 26thPresident of America 1901 to 1909.

–           William Howard Taft 27th, 1909 to 1913.

–           Woodrow Wilson 28th, 1913 to 1921.

–           Warren  G. Harding 29th, 1921 to 1923

–           Calvin Coolidge 30th, 1923 to 1929.

–           Herbert Hoover 31st, 1929 to 1933.

–           Franklin D. Roosevelt was the 32nd President of America from 1933 to 1945. He was leading America during the 2nd World War of 1939 to 1945.

–           Harry S. Truman 33rd American President 1945 to 1953.

–           Dwight, D. Eisenhower 34th, from 1953 to 1961.

–           John F. Kennedy was the 35thPresident of America from 1961 to 1963 and a Democrat. He was the 1st Roman Catholic to be elected President of America. He launched the space age with his decision to put Americans on the moon within a decade. Just as President Franklin D. Roosevelt used Radio to create a personal relationship with the American Public, Kennedy became the 1stPresident to effectively use live television on a regular basis. Kennedy was assassinated in Dallas, Texas on Nov. 22, 1963.

–           Lyndon B. Johnson, 36th President of U.S.A 1963 to 1969.

–           Richard M. Nixon, 37thPresident, 1969 to 1974.

–           Gerald R. Ford 38thPresident from 1974 to 1977.

–           Jimmy Carter (James E. Carter), 39th President of America from 1977 to 1981 was a Democrat. He was born 1924 in Georgia, graduated from the U.S. Naval Academy in 1946. After a brief career as a Nuclear Engineer in the U.S. Navy, he returned to Georgia to become a peanut farmer, entered local politics and won election as Governor from 1971 to 1974. He visited Nigeria in 1978 when he was the President of America and met then military Head of State of Nigeria General Olusegun Obasanjo (photo speaks, see picture below). It is noted that the two leaders Obasanjo and Jimmy Carter recognized farming as a noble profession. Nigerian youths should take good note of this.

–           Ronald Reagan was the 40thPresident of America 1981 to 1989.

He was a movie actor since the late 1930’s.

–           George Herbert Walker Bush was the 41st American President from 1989 to 1993.

–           Bill Clinton was the 42nd American President 1993 to 2001.

–           George walker Bush was the 43rdPresident of America from 2001 to 2009.

–           Barrack Obama was the 44thPresident of America from 2009 to 2017 (1st& 2nd Tenure). He was born in 1961 in Hawaii, U.S.A. He was the 1st Black American President in History. He graduated from Harvard Law School in 1991 and worked as a Lecturer in the University of Chicago Law School from 1992 to 2004.

–           Donald Trumph was the 45thPresident of America He contested for the 2nd Tenure in U.S elections held in Nov. 2020 and Joe Bidden & Joe Bidden won. Thus Joe Bidden is now the 46th President of America. Inauguration of U.S President took place on 20th January 2021.

Livinus Nnebedum, a public affairs analyst, author & former Director in Anambra State Agricultural Development Programme (ADP), writes from the Federal College of Education (Technical), Umunze.