Bishop Ajang Inaugurates New National Executive Of Laity

By Josef Ishu

The Catholic Bishop of Lafia Diocese, Most Rev. David Ajang on Sunday, December 12, 2021 inaugurated a 10-man National Executive Committee of the Catholic Laity Council of Nigeria (CLCN).

The inauguration ceremony took place during the Holy Mass of the Third Sunday of Advent at St. William’s Cathedral, Lafia, Nasarawa State capital.

The Hon. (Sir) Henry Yunkwap-led Laity Council Executive was elected on Saturday, Dec. 11 at the same venue to superintend over the affairs of the

Council in the next four years.

The election was conducted by the Director, Pastoral Agents Department of the Catholic Secretariat of Nigeria (CSN), Very Rev. Fr. Isaac Dugu on behalf of Most Rev John NIYIRING (OSA) and was supported by the national and provincial chaplains of the Laity.

Hon. Yunkwap, the immediate past National Secretary of the Council takes over from Sir Thomas Adefolusho Adekoya.

In his acceptance speech, the new Laity National President pledged total loyalty to the

hierarchy of the Church and promised to promote the agenda of Jesus, unity and peace among the Laity.

Meanwhile, the new executive members have been admonished not to misuse power given to them. This was contained in an open letter to the newly elected executive by the Secretary of the Laity Council, Catholic Archdiocese of Lagos, Chris Uruakpa. “Power belongs to God. Your election must shape things up positively. Do not see yourselves as thin-gods.”

The newly elected CLCN Executive are:

Hon. Henry Yunkwap – President (Old Kaduna Province/Jos Archdiocese), Lady Chisara Egwim – Chima – Sec (Old Onitsha Province/Okigwe Diocese), Mrs. Anthonia Ogunbiyi – Asst. Sec – (Lagos Province/Abeokuta Diocese) and Dr. Lumumba Dodo – Fin. Sec (Kaduna Province/Zaria Diocese).

Others include Mrs. Millicent Uduigwome – Treasurer (Old Lagos Province/Auchi Diocese), Sir Michael Oladele – PRO (Ibadan Province/Ilorin Diocese), Mr. Justine Akpo – Welfare Officer

(Calabar Province/Ogoja Diocese), Mr. Bayo George Ilori – Provost 1 (Abuja Archdiocese/Lokoja Diocese), Barr. Basil Aguigwo – Legal Adviser (Onitsha Province/Ekwulobia Diocese) and Mr. Matthew Adizigi – Provost 2 – Cadet.

The Catholic Laity Council of Nigeria is the body of all the members of the Church who are not priests or consecrated men and women. It is the apex body of the lay faithful in the Catholic Church.