Awka South NUP Branch Holds Inaugural Meeting

By Chioma Nwosu

The Nigeria Union of Pensioners (NUP) Awka South Local Government Branch has held its inaugural meeting at St. Mary’s Catholic Parish, Awka.

In his opening address, the chairman of the branch, Chief Bernard Odum, thanked members who attended the meeting and informed them that no other body had the right to call members to meetings except his executive.

He further stated that any meeting not initiated by his group should be discountenanced as such meeting would be illegal.

His words, ‘My executive in due course shall liaise with the state council in order to parley with the state government on means to liquidate the retiree’s pensions and gratuities.’

Speaking also at the meeting Comrade Emma Nwosu, the chairman of Local Government Staff Pensioners Association, informed members that there were three associations making up the Nigeria Union of Pensioners in Awka South Local Government Branch and gave them as  Local Government Staff Pensioners Association, Primary School Teachers Association and State Civil Servants Association, noting that each of these associations must pay due allegiance to the Union. He urged members to cooperate with the present executive and always endeavour to attend meetings

endeavour to attend meetings initiated by the Union, for Awka South Nigeria Union of Pensioners (NUP) is one and the same.

The meeting resolved that the executive should endeavour, to device more appropriate means of disseminating information, for the union’s meetings so that more members would attend. The meeting also decried the inability of the executive members to gain entry, into their office located at the Awka South Local Government Secretariat, as a result of the refusal of the former officers led by Comrade Patrick Obanye to handover to them the affairs of the union.

Comrade Bernard Odum Chairman, Comrade Ngozi Nwokike Vice Chairman, Comrade (Prof) Ifeanyi Ezeaku Secretary, Comrade Obed Ilodigwe Treasurer, Comrade Ndubuisi Ejiofor Auditor, Comrade Ngozi Umeadi Auditor.

Others are Comrade D.N Osonwa Ex-officio, Comrade Charles Mogor Ex-officio, Comrade Alice Anene Ex-officio, Comrade Bridget Eke Ex-officio, Comrade Augustine Offor Ex-officio, Comrade (Sir) Leo Enekwechi Ex-officio and Comrade Fidelia Officha Ex-officio.