Anambra Legislature Gets 29 New Standing Committees

. . . Condoles With APGA Boss over Daughter’s Death

By Abuchi Onwumelu

The Anambra State House of Assembly last Tuesday inaugurated twenty-nine new standing committees with a call on the committee members to use their expertise and legislative acumen to better the lots of Ndi Anambra by embarking on oversight functions toministries, departments and parastatals as and when due.

Speaking shortly before the inauguration of the committee members, the Speaker of the 7th Assembly and member representing Ayamelum State Constituency, Hon. Uche Okafor, welcomed his colleagues back to the House after a short break.

He said that the reports he got from different quarters showed that the members used the period of the short break to interact with their constituents with a view to identifying the areas of common developmental interest.

He commended the lawmakers for their proactive approach to development in their various constituencies.

Hon. Okafor stated that the State Assembly accorded high priority to constituency briefing through town hall meetings, which, he said, were veritable platforms for comprehensive community development. He thanked them for their commitment so far in achieving what he described as the desired task.

He prayed God to help them to realize their legislative goals, which, he said, geared towards the overall development of the state, even as he charged them to redouble their efforts in giving Ndi Anambra the best of parliamentary service by joining hands in moving the state forward through positive legislations.

The chairmen and deputy chairmen of the various committees inaugurated by the Speaker are as follows:

Screening and Election Matters Committee – Hon. Dr. Pascal Agbodike (Deputy Speaker of the Seventh Assembly) – Chairman, Hon. Dr.Tim Ifedioramma – Deputy Chairman.
Finance and Appropriation Committee, Hon. (Pharm.) Obinna Chris Emeneka, Chairman; Hon. Nonso Okafor – Deputy Chairman.

Rules and Business Committee, Hon. (Pharm.) Dr. G. Nnamdi Okafor (Majority Leader), Chairman; Hon. Emeka Aforka (Deputy majority leader) – Deputy Chairman.
Local Government and Chieftaincy Matters Committee, Hon. Sir Dr. Pete Ibida – Chairman; Hon. Chief Emeka Aforka – Deputy Chairman.

Public Petitions Committee, Hon. Chief Emeka Aforka, Chairman; Hon. Ejike Okechukwu – Deputy Chairman.

Health Committee, Chairman, Hon. Carter Nnamdi Umeh; Hon. Obinna Emeneka – Deputy Chairman.

Lands, Survey and Urban Development Committee, Hon. Ifeanyi Arthur Chiekwu, member representing Idemili North State Constituency, Chairman; Hon. Charles Obimma – Deputy Chairman.

Trade, Commerce and Industry Committee, Hon. Charles Obimma – Chairman; Hon. Barr. Douglas Egbuna – Deputy Chairman Committee on Environment, Hon. Edward Ibuzo – Chairman; Hon. Lawrence Ezeudu – Deputy Chairman.

Police, Security and Boundary Matters Committee, Hon. Onyebuchi Offor – Chairman; Hon. John Nwokoye – Deputy Chairman.

House Services Committee, Hon. Barr. Uzoma Eli, Chairman; Hon. Sunny Ozobialu – Deputy Chairman.

Social Development, Gender and Children’s Affairs Committee – Hon. Nonso Okafor – Chairman; Hon. Beverly Nkemdiche – Deputy Chairman.

Tenders Board and Procurement Committee, Hon. Barr. Chuka Ezewunne – Chairman; Hon. Johnbosco Akaegbobi – Deputy Chairman.

Youth Empowerment, Creative Industry and Sports Committee, Hon. Noble Igwe – Chairman; Hon. Carter Nnamdi Umeh – Deputy Chairman.

Public Accounts Committee, Hon. Somto Udeze – Chairman; Hon. Sir Dr. Pete Ibida – Deputy Chairman.

Information and Communications Committee, Hon. Dr. Okechukwu Okoye – Chairman; Hon. Barr. Uzoma Eli – Deputy Chairman.

Culture, Tourism and Diaspora Matters Committee, Hon. Emmanuel Nwafor, Chairman; Hon. Ebele Ejiofor – Deputy Chairman.

Internally Generated Revenue (IGR) Committee, Hon. Chukwuma Okoye – Chairman; Hon. Nonso Okafor – Deputy Chairman.

Committee on Tertiary Education, Hon. Beverly Nkemdiche, Chairman; Hon. Dr. Okechukwu Okoye – Deputy Chairman.

Basic Education Committee, Hon. Ejike Okechukwu – Chairman, Hon. Onyebuchi Offor – Deputy Chairman.

Judiciary and Justice Committee, Hon. Barr. Douglas Egbuna – Chairman; Hon. Barr. Chidi Udemadu – Deputy Chairman.

Agriculture Committee, Hon. John Nwokoye – Chairman; Hon. Patrick Udeoba – Deputy Chairman.

Committee on Housing, Hon. Lawrence Ezeudu – Chairman; Hon. Sunny Ozobialu – Deputy Chairman.

Transport Committee, Hon. Patrick Udeoba – Chairman; Hon. Chukwuma Okoye – Deputy Chairman.

Public Utilities Committee, Hon. Barr. Chidi Udemadu – Chairman; Hon. Noble Igwe – Deputy Chairman.

Works Committee, Hon. Dr. Timothy Ifedioramma – Chairman; Hon. Emmanuel Nwafor – Deputy Chairman.

Sustainable Development Goals, Economic Planning and Donor Agencies Committee, Hon. Ebele Ejiofor, Chairman; Hon. Sunny Ozobialu – Deputy Chairman.

Pilgrimage, Ethics and Privileges Committee, Hon. Sunny Ozobialu – Chairman; Hon. Barr. Uzoma Eli – Deputy Chairman.

Committee on Civil Society Organizations, Establishments and Labour Matters, Hon. John Bosco Akaegbobi, Chairman; Hon. Noble Igwe – Deputy Chairman.

The House members, shortly after the inauguration and confirmation of the committee members, proceeded to the house of the national chairman of the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) where they condoled with him and his family over the death of his daughter, Mrs. Chinenye Barbara Amaechi.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *