Anambra Govt Creates 2 New Ministries

…As Ministry of Works, Others Get New Names

By Mmaduabuchi Onwumelu

Anambra State Government, has established two new ministries. They are Ministry of Homeland Affairs and the Ministry of Petroleum & Mineral Resources.

This was contained in a circular signed by the state Head of Service, Barrister Theodora Igwegbe.

The establishment of the ministries, which was in line with the efforts of the Governor Chukwuma Soludo-led administration in repositioning Anambra State, necessitated the abolition of the former Ministry of Tertiary Education and the streamlining of the new ministries to have the following professional departments.

The Ministry of Education will now have within its structures the Technical and Vocational Department, Schools Department, Educational Services, Educational Development Centre and Higher Educational Departments.

While on the other hand, the Ministry of Petroleum and Mineral Resources will include Mineral Resources and Energy, Hydrometeorology Department, and finally, Scientific Innovations, Research & Development Department.

The circular also contained the restructuring which moved the ICT Department in the former Ministry of Tertiary Education to the Anambra State Information and Communication Technology Agency.

According to the circular, while the Industry Department, hitherto of the office of the Deputy Governor, has been returned to the Ministry of Commerce and Industry, some ministries like the Ministry of Works gained a new nomenclature and will now be known as the Ministry of Works and Infrastructure.

Ministries with new nomenclatures are the Ministry of Youth Entrepreneurship and Creative Energy, now the Ministry of Youth Development; Ministry of Economic Planning, Budget and Development Partners’ Coordination, now the Ministry of Economic Planning and Budget.

Others are Ministry of Social Welfare, Children’s and Women’s Affairs, now the Ministry of Women’s and Social Welfare; Ministry of Trade and Commerce, now the Ministry of Commerce and Industry; Ministry of Public Utilities, now Ministry of Power and Water Resources; while the Ministry of Basic Education and the Ministry of Tertiary Education, Science and Technology, collapsed into the Ministry of Education as the Ministry of Information and Public Enlightenment is now the Ministry of Information.

The circular also confirmed that the Ministry of Diaspora Affairs, Indigenous Art Works, Culture and Tourism, would be known as the Ministry of Culture, Entertainment and Tourism, while the Ministry of Housing and Urban Renewal is now the Ministry of Housing.

The circular also directed the professional staff members of the forgoing ministries and agencies to re-align and move to their new ministries and commence duty.