Anambra APC Faction Adopts Andy Uba as Leader, Dumps Ngige

By Ikeugonna Eleke

A faction of the All Progressives Congress, APC, in Anambra State, has adopted Senator Andy Uba as the leader of the party in the state.

A caucus meeting of the party in the state which was held in Abuja and convened by the state acting chairman of the party, Basil Ejidike, which was attended by several members of the party, made the proclamation, thereby dumping the Minister of Labour and Employment, Dr Chris Ngige, who has since inception of the party remained the leader in the state.

There has been a running battle between Ngige and Uba since after the governorship election in Anambra State; with Ngige being accused of working against Uba.

Meanwhile, Fides gathered that Ngige had also held a caucus meeting of the party in the state in his residence in Maitama, Abuja, and that the meeting was attended by lots of party bigwigs.

But Hon Afam Ogene, a former member of the House of Representatives, said the meeting convened by Ejidike was far more attended than Ngige’s and that the caucus used the opportunity to wrest power off Ngige and officially confirm Uba as the leader of the party in Anambra State.

Ogene said, ‘The Anambra State Caucus of the All Progressives Congress, APC, joined by some other stakeholders, last night rose from a meeting held in Maitama, Abuja, and resolved, among others, to affirm His Excellency, Senator Emmanuel Andy Uba, MFR, as the authentic Leader of the state chapter of the APC.

‘This decision is in tandem with the standing paradigm that the current gubernatorial candidate of the party becomes the leader of the party in the state.

‘The meeting, which was generously attended, comprised former senators, current and former members of the House of Representatives, current and former presiding and principal officers of the State House of Assembly, 14 out of 17 members of the State Working Committee (SWC) of the party, a former minister, current and former zonal and national officers of the party, as well as the governorship and deputy governorship candidates of the party in the recently held Anambra gubernatorial election.’

A list of those in attendance which was made available to Fides included; Senator Andy Uba and his deputy, Barrister Emeka Okafor; Senators Ik Obiora and Emma Anosike; Honourables Linda Ikpeazu, Vincent Ofumelu, Chidi Duru, Chiedu Eluemunor, Jerry Ugokwe, Ralph Okeke, Fort Dike, Chuma Nzeribe, Afam Ogene, Chizor Obidigwe and Peter Madubueze.

From the Anambra State House of Assembly were former speakers, Ben Chuks Nwosu and Chinwe Nwaebeli; former and current principal officers, Ebele Obi and Lawrence Ezeudu, among five other serving members.

Also in attendance were former Minister of Transportation, John Emeka; former National Auditor, Paul Chukwuma; Zonal Youth Leader, Olisaemeka Onyeka, and the State Chairman, Chief Basil Ejidike.

Other members of the SWC, who are members of the state caucus present were the deputy state chairman, Anaedobe Johnbosco; state treasurer, Chris Udenze; women’s leader, Callista Nwachukwu; state youth leader, Augustine Mumoaife; Special (Physically Challenged) leader, Obi Ndigwe.

Also in attendance were the zonal chairman, North, Ezenwa Ekwuaju and zonal chairman, South, Izuchukwu Okeke.

Ogene said that in line with Section 12:9 (xviii) of the APC Constitution 2014 (As Amended), which required the admittance of two other leaders per senatorial zone to join the state caucus, the following, Barrister C.J. Chinwuba and Melville Ebo, North; Dozie Ikedife and Chidi Ogbaji, South; and Dennis Ngene and Chibuzor Obiakor, were also in attendance.

‘The state caucus received briefing from Ejidike on the state of the party in Anambra and accepted and adopted the report given by the chairman. These included the suspension handed down to the former state secretary, Chukwuma Agufugo, and erstwhile publicity secretary, Okelo Madukaife,’ Ogene said.