Amesi, Awka Lift Gov. Obiano Unity Cup

It’s yet another season of Gov. Obiano Unity Cup grand finale which was held at Chuma Ikpeazu Stadium, Onitsha on 15th December, 2017 having Amesi community lifting the cup for the female team while Awka FC posing as the champions for the male team of the Cup.
146 Football Teams comprising of 118 Male Teams and 28 Female Teams from the 21 Local Government Areas of Anambra State, having paramilitary, indigenes, non indigenes and Institutions participating in the tournament.
At the 32nd minutes of the first half, Amesi community scored her first goal against Ogidi community while Awka community clinched to victory in the male category of the tournament after defeating Igboukwu with 2 goals at the 32nd and 77th minutes of the game
Eze Vivian scored the only goal of the team making the game end at 1-0 while Chukwunonso Nwafor and Kosisochukwu Daniel scored the two goals for Awka Community. Ozoemena Uche, a team member from Awka community, took the crowd with amazement of his talented skills, thereby; he was seen as a utility player and the brain behind the goals scored by his team members.
The Commissioner for Youths and Sports, Barr. Uju Nworgu who kicked off the match during the grand finale match of the male category, welcomed all the football clubs and communities. She appreciated them for their effort since the kick off the match on 6th October, 2017. She said that the purpose of the competition was to empower the youths by creating harmony, peace and recreation.
Uju Nworgu thanked the Governor of Anambra State, Willie Obiano for his support and commitment to youths and development. In a special way, she thanked the Local Organising Committee headed by Barr. JBC Obikwelu, for their strong willed efforts to the success of the tournament. She appreciated the Referees, Match Commissioner, Media representatives for their support to the tournament.
The winning team marched victorious with one million naira prize and a trophy with the second, third and fourth position took 500,000, 300,000 and 200,000 respectively.
In the same vein, the Chairman of the Local Organising Committee headed by Barr. JBC Obikwelu, thanked the governor and other administrative head for their sincere support to the development of sports. In a special way, he thanked the team of Orgaising Committee for their wholehearted encouragement to him. Obikwelu, congratulated the winning teams and encouraged all other teams to do better in subsequent Unity Cup tournaments
Other individual prizes were presented for both the female and male category. For the female category, Chizoba Onyema from Ozubulu community as the Highest Goal Scorer; Anyaogu MaryJane from Ukpor as the Most Valuable Player; Ibeh Chinonye from Ogidi community as the Best Goalkeeper and Ihembosi community won as the Best Behaved Team
For the male category, Edeh Ugochukwu from Odekpe community as the Highest Goal Scorer; Uduh Anthony from Nsugbe as the Most Valuable Player; Onyedika Obi from Awka community as the Best Goalkeeper and Awka Etiti community won as the Best Behaved Team.