27 Footbal Clubs Ready for Anambra Super 8 Tournament

… as AIFL announces Top Players

By Alexander Johnson Adejoh

Not less than 27 grassroots football clubs cut across the three senatorial districts of Anambra State, will next month (February) compete in the first edition of ‘My Anambra’ Football Super 8 Football Tournament slated to kick start on Feb. 1.

My Anambra Football Super 8 Football Tournament is a programme of Anambra State Football Association said to be sponsored by Aspire FC, an amateur football club in the state designed to promote sporting activities in the state.

Speaking to newsmen, Oliver Ndigwe, a member of (AnSFA) board and chairman of the Super 8 League Organising Committee said the competition would hold in the three zonal levels concurrently and the two top teams from each would qualify for the final stage.

Ndigwe who spoke last Saturday after the draws, noted that the best two losing sides in the playoffs when concluded in March would join the other six for the Super 8 proper.

He added that Aspire FC, sponsors of the competition, would provide free medical test for the participating teams’ players and officials, adding that the competition would hold under strict compliance to COVID-19 protocols and standard football rule and regulations.

Ndigwe disclosed that the winners would go with N500,000 N400,000 and N200,000 as first, second and third prizes respectivelly with national division two slot for the winner.

He said, ‘The Super 8 is a flagship grassroots football tournament in Anambra; it is an opportunity for one of the amateur sides to get a slot to play in National Division 2 (NLO).

‘For this edition, we have 27 teams, 13 teams from Anambra Central eight from Anambra North and six from Anambra South Senatorial Districts and I must say it is a good number to start with,’

While calling on the participating clubs to give budding footballer the opportunity to show their skills as it was essentially made for unknown players, he noted that football in Anambra State shall be great again.

In another development, Rev Fr Obinna Dike, Chairman, Anambra Independent Football League, AIFL, last Sunday, January 24, announced the names of players that made the top scorers as follows:

3 Goals: John Chinaza Okeke (DOSAD FA);  2 Goals: Somadina Okafor (Mekon FC) Adina Odinaka (GP World FA), Chzisom Okafor (DOSAD FA), Chinonso Udo(Ogene FC), Chibueze Ezelumba (Bubendorf FC); 1 goal: Obiora Eme (Mekon FC), Odili Onyejekwe (Mekon FC), Chibuko Udezue(Bubendorf FC), Oliseh Ugwu(Obeledu United), Anyamaobi Arinze(Ozalla FC), Nwaigwe Bright(Ozalla FC), Uche Austin (Cardinal Arinze FC), Onyia Ejike(DOSAD FA), Eze Emeka (Ogene FC), Victor Ikechukwu (Obeledu FC), Onyemaeke Princewill (Ozalla FC), Edeh Jekwu(Ozalla FC), Dimukeje Chinemerem (Ozalla FC), Ogenna Chibueze (Ogene FC) Ekene Obiejesi (Rangels FA